February 28: Sitting with Ignorance


Yoga is about having awareness of what is.  This includes having awareness of ignorance. I believe that it demonstrates intelligence when you admit when you do not know something, rather than pretend that you do.

The phrase, “I don’t know, but I’d love to learn,” has inspired many enriching conversations in my life.  I consider myself a student of the world, and the more open I make myself to learning, the more free lessons I receive.  Unfortunately, the vanity of the egos can get in the way of becoming more well-informed.

I wish people didn’t judge each other, but unfortunately its all to common for someone to make fun of another when they don’t know something. A preferred response is to see another person’s ignorance and curiosity as an opportunity for learning and sharing.

The first step in the learning process is acknowledging your ignorance.  The second, is having the confidence in Self  to realize your own intelligence and to feel safe requesting additional information. From this centered space, the outside world will likely respond with patience and love and teach you something you’ve always wanted to know.

Asana Practice: I’m getting to put this lesson to practice.  Today I started working with Anthony “Prem” Carlisi and Heather “Radha” Duplex at an ashtanga yoga studio in Ubud. Check out their website.  I met them last night at another cacao party (yes, cacao has taken over Bali). Radha requested that I show up with beginners mind and that we work on my Sun Salutations.

This morning I entered the studio with zero expectations.  Radha started from the beginning of the ashtanga yoga sequence and helped me shift all of my poses.  I LEARNED SO MUCH!

I’ve committed to a week at the studio and if all goes well I will practice with them for a month. I’m excited to share the downloads of these talented teachers as I approach my original yoga form, ashtanga, with fresh eyes.  Stay tuned.

Lesson Learned: If you approach every moment with fresh eyes you will receive a deeper teaching.  Beginners mind allows for a supple receptive mind.  Encourage your ego to relax in a space of “not knowing” rather than a place of “I know all.”

This entry was posted in 365 Yoga Study, Self Help and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to February 28: Sitting with Ignorance

  1. Hmmm that is really interesting, maybe I should forget what I learned in school and next time I show up on the job it will be in my underwear. I’ll claim it is beginners mind or beginners mind the way you explained it. Could you please elaborate on chogyam thrungpa and Suzuki’s teaching and stop making if about yourself. I’m sure it’s important, but come on.

  2. case in point: paul’s comment ………………….. *sitting with ignorance* – especially challenging in the form of confusion and pretending to be intelligent – sometimes difficult to avoid engaging in the ego battle that this may provoke

    you could learn a lot from suzuki’s book, paul

    great message, katie

  3. David says:

    May be this is just my beginners mind… That comment made you sound like an asshole Paul. What deeper teaching are you ready to receive without your underwear? True innocence is a recognition that who you truly are is completely naked, and everybody is looking, all the time in everywhere you could ever possibly imagine.

    Katie,
    I am excited to hear about all of the transformations that continue to unfold as you persevere with the relentless, fire of discipline that Ashtanga Demands. I don’t know what will happen, But I am excited to learn!

Leave a comment