February 23: How to Sequence a Yoga Class (Vol I: Timing)


I’m teaching my first class in Bali this evening, so I spent the morning sequencing a class.

Having put aside teaching for a few years and just getting back in to it, I’m more aware of the techniques that I naturally use to put a class together. I thought it would be useful for me to share these techniques with people who are new to teaching or have a private practice.

Asana Practice: I find inspiration for teaching while doing my personal practice.  The main different when you are teaching, is that a class must fit a set schedule and be easy for people to follow.

TEACHING TECHNIQUE: This morning I set a timer for 15 minute increments.  I then proceeded to practice with the goal of each 15 minute segment having a consistent theme.

The first 15 minutes was a warm up, setting patterns in the body, and allowing myself (and therefore, my students later when I teach) to enter the class.

The second 15 minutes was a series of modified sun salutations, moving in a controlled fashion.

The third 15 minutes were spent in a powerful solar movement including standing poses and a lot of flow.

The final 15 minutes were spent doing closing postures and savasana.

This technique is great for classes of any length because almost all classes are either: durations of 15 minute intervals naturally including savasana (e.g. 1 hour, 1.5 hours, etc), or are durations of 15 minute intervals plus a savasana (e.g. 50 minute class = 3, 45 minute intervals plus a 5 minute savasana).

Enjoy playing with this technique for organizing the timing of a yoga class

Lesson Learned: Sequence a class based on 15 minute intervals where each 15 minute interval has a set goal.

This entry was posted in 365 Yoga Study. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment