February 19: Light Headed, Try some Fruit


A fundamental part of yoga philosophy is experimentation and giving yourself the freedom to explore.  This does not suggest that you must adopt a thought pattern if it has proven to you its falseness, but remaining open is an important part of growth.

I am surrounded by a raw food community in Bali.  I am currently experimenting with how different nutritional modalities affect my consciousness, energy, mental clarity, and physical strength.

Asana Practice: I’ve been dizzy during my morning yoga session.  Its been suggested to me that my blood sugar might be low since I practice before I eat.

I prefer to go to bed on an empty stomach, but raw food doesn’t stick to my bones the way cooked food does.  While I’m eating mainly raw its vital that I have some calories when I wake up.  Fruit appears to be the best option.

Lesson Learned: If you are light-headed in yoga, consider that your blood sugar might be low and have something easy to digest within an hour and a half of practicing.

This entry was posted in 365 Yoga Study and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to February 19: Light Headed, Try some Fruit

  1. james says:

    Katherine,
    Thanks for the great posts.
    May I add, coming from an endurance sport background there are many cross overs I have noted related to aerobic exercise and asana/vinyasa practice which can benefit all. Namely, eating a small portion of carbs w/ protein 1/2hr after practice. This has helped maintain my energy levels into the next day and is good for muscle recovery as well.

Leave a comment