February 21: Raw Cacao, Raising the Activation Potential


Change your paradigm, chocolate is good for you. (If its made right.)

I’m living in a house full of raw food enthusiasts.  The first few days, my body screamed for more grounding foods.  When I finally introduced a cooked meal, I was shocked, I mourned for the natural high from eating raw.

It seems like every time I turn around there is a new type of raw chocolate being made in my new house.  They mold hard chocolates, put cacao powder in smoothies, they make pudding and drinks.  I’ve had more cacao in a week than I had in the preceding year and I FEEL AMAZING!

The easiest way to introduce healthy cacao in to your daily routine, is to add cacao powder to your smoothie.

Here is a company that I enjoy:


You can order it online at their website. I met their owner a year ago and their practices are top-notch.  He has a personal working relationship with all the farms he buys from and they remain organic using traditional farming techniques. (A pretty rare occurence these days).

Asana Practice: Nutrition can affect the way you feel when you practice.  The traditional thought is that you shouldn’t eat within two hours of practicing asana.

I have a fast metabolism and I often wake up hungry.  I also like to practice yoga first thing in the morning.  To fix the problem,  I like to make a small fruit smoothie with cacao.  I find this is the perfect energetic boost.

Lesson Learned: If you want to avoid a fully belly when practicing yoga, but you are hungry and need a small boost, consider making a cacao smoothie or eating a raw chocolate.

 

 

This entry was posted in nutrition. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment