March 14: Breathing through Pain, the Aftershocks of a Natural Disaster


There is a heavy energy in Indonesia right now. Japan is right around the corner, and we had a small earthquake on the island a few days ago. Asana Practice: I found myself really sad during practice today.  I noticed my breath slipping away from me and my focus waning. It’s vital that we connect to our inner fire right now and remain passionately ONE with spirit. Mother Gaia is going through a lot right now. In order to stay away from the fear and connect to the light, breathe deeply. My chest felt heavy as I practiced and I noticed my tendency to make my breath shallow.  I could see my body hiding from the pain, trying to reduce my life force so that I wouldn’t have to feel the sadness with as much vibrancy. Every breath was a choice, I could allow the pain to weaken me and collapse, or I could breathe deeper.  I choose the latter, but it wasn’t easy.  Again and again I was presented with a decision. I had to call in the attention of warrior to hold my breath strong and my body soft during every exhale and every inhale.  I had to honor the pain by remaining present, but I had to honor myself and spirit by willing my breath deeper and deeper. Courage is needed during times like these.  It doesn’t matter whether the sadness in your heart is a result of an unknown factor or the result of huge natural disasters, the only way to heal is to look pain directly in the face and breathe. Breathing deeply connects our physical body to our life force. When we are full of life force, we can endure anything.  Don’t allow fear or the sensation of pain to break your spirit.  Remain focuses, approach the moment with warrior energy.  Keep your body soft, your heart lifted, and find your life force…breathe. Lesson Learned: Build your inner fire and connect with life force by deepening your breath. Times are trying right now, if you find sadness in your heart fill your body with the courage of a warrior and breathe.  Make the choice to breathe deeply in each and every moment, remaining present with pain, in order to heal all wounds and quell all fear.

This entry was posted in 365 Yoga Study, Inspiration, Self Help and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to March 14: Breathing through Pain, the Aftershocks of a Natural Disaster

  1. raven says:

    nice message, katie – here’s a similar one:

    … an opportunity to connect through the openness of our hearts and minds

Leave a comment